25 years?!?!

Hello!  Today is my 25th birthday!  Hard to believe that I am 25 years old.  It it amazing that I am now in this new realm of being a little bit older and seemingly totally an adult.  I have had a wonderfully relaxing weekend of mostly lounging around.  Today I was able to get some work done, do 2 workouts and go to Seasons 52 with Eric!  What a fantastic place to eat!!  All the meals have 475 cal or less and they have this amazing drink………a raspberry sweet tea martini!!  The yummy-est drink I have had in a long long time.  I had a bruschetta-type flat bread appetizer and cedar plank salmon with asparagus, carrots and red potatoes.  And they had amazing litter mini-shot-desserts and they were awesome.  I ggot the peanut butter swirl and Eric got the pecan pie.  Both were amazing!  What a nice and relaxing special dinner.

Had to do two workouts today to stay on track for this week.  Did Week 2 Day 1 of the C25k and it was again too easy.  I did come home and do NMTZ and it kicked my booty!!  I will be feeling it tomorrow.  I am really looking forward to going to Nashville this weekend.  I can’t wait to see my family and friends there.  I really want to take pictures too so hopefully I will find some time for that.

So I feel like I should do a special reflection for my big 2-5 birthday.  I thought I would think about how far I have come and how many dreams I still have left.  I am an independent adult who manages her finances and is able to provide for herself.  I am still the little girl I was when I decided that I was going to be a doctor but now I am just a bigger kid in med school.  I still get amazed at the human body and all its glory.  I still get excited at the idea of healing and helping the world be a little less sick.  I am married and I have managed to not run him off in the craziness of the first year of med school.  More importantly, I am married to my best friend and someone who still makes me laugh and who’s kisses still rock my world.  He is wonderful and I consider it one of the best things I have ever accomplished in marrying him.  I have amazing friends.  I have the same friends since almost 20 years ago and I cherish that more than I can put into words.  I felt that today with all the love and people stopping in their busy lives to say Happy Birthday.  I think the other best thing about my wedding day was looking around and knowing how many people love me.  What an amazing feeling.  And now, being in med school, surrounded by people who want to be doctors too….sometimes it strikes me as amazing.  We are all going to heal.  We are all going to make it to that big giant goal that so many of us have had for so so long.  Its so easy to get bogged down in the details and all the compulsive studying we can do….but in the end we have to look around and appreciate where we are and how lucky we are to get to learn what we are learning.

That being said I want more than med school.  I want to travel more (as money permits).  I want to have more fun and go out more.  I want to spend better time with Eric and friends.  I think this year and this better schedule makes more time for that and it needs to happen.  I love being in med school but I don’t want to look back on all these years and see just med school.  Life is too short and it needs to be packed with the good stuff.  Ok going to bed!  Good night and thanks for all the wishes!!

About decafnespresso

I am a medical student, wife, amateur photographer, animal lover and much more! Follow me as a try to navigate med school, pick a specialty, post (hopefully) beautiful pictures and other dreams!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

